Pics As Promised(few days late) :(

Hey All!

It is day three of the Advocare 24-Day Challenge!  I have some pics and recipes to share with you that I have fixed!

I went to the Center Wednesday am and walked treadmill and elliptical for 30 minutes, and then weighed myself(one week from measuring/weighing for the program) and I weighed the same……good news is that I did not GAIN anything from my weekend in Austin with my sister! (must have done something right!) 🙂

I made my Quinoa Caprise for my salads and it turned out great!  Here is a short recipe for you to try!

Quinoa cooked in Swanson’s 99% Fat Free/no MSG chicken broth, sea salt to taste with one minced clove of garlic.  When done, squeeze 1/2 lemon on it and chop about 1/4 cup fresh Basil and add to the quinoa.  Stir to combine; pack in portable containers, 1 cup or less per container.  Let cool completely, put lids on and store in fridge!  Use as topping on your green salad that you will be eating for lunch!

Quinoa is a plant protein that has really become popular and it is good!  My salad consisted of spinach, mixed baby greens, and home-grown greens from a friend I work with, cherry tomatoes, 1/2 diced avocado,  red pepper, garden fresh broccoli, garden fresh radishes, and a few black olives.  Dressing was Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar, a touch of EVOO, about 1 tsp Dijon Mustard, and 1/2 tsp. Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb Seasoning!(mix dressing ingredients in a small bowl with small whisk and pour on top of all salad stuffs!  I REALLY like salads  and I have grown to really like this dressing mixture!  It is good and good for you too!  This has been my lunch that I take to work with me too!

Monday nite, Larry grilled some chicken breasts that I marinated in EVOO, fresh rosemary, fresh thyme, fresh parsley, and fresh garlic(mince herbs and combine with EVOO, put chicken breasts in a bag, pour herbs and oil on top, seal bag, mush around and let sit for at least an hour. Season with a small amount of salt and grill outside on charcoal grill or your electric grill!!). He also grilled some pork chops too that we had with other stuff!  Tuesday, I peeled, diced and baked a butternut squash in the oven that  I drizzled lightly with EVOO and a touch of salt(bake covered at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes until tender!). We had this with fresh radishes and steamed broccoli and the chicken breasts cooked Monday nite!  That was supper Tuesday nite(I ate a pork chop Monday when he grilled!)and will be supper again tonite with fresh squash! (I nearly ate it all up before I remembered to take a picture! It was that good or I was that hungry one!) :)-

This is the Chicken Enchilada Stew I made from a recipe that was given to me from one of the girls at Anytime Fitness Center.  It turned out REALLY good!  It is purty much a chicken tortilla soup without the corn tortillas!  I was good and only had one bowl for supper!

Chicken Enchilada Stew

 

Cooked chicken breast meat in chicken broth, 1/2 green and red pepper, diced, 1-4 oz can Hatch green chilis, 3 garlic cloves minced, 1/2 white onion, chopped, 1 TBSP Cumin and Chili Powder, 2 tsp. Mexican Oregano, S&P to taste, minced fresh cilantro at the end!  Can top in your bowl with diced fresh avocado, but I did not because I had my avocado at lunch in my salad!  I did not even miss the corn tortillas in this, which was VERY surprising!  Hubby Larry crushed some up in his soup, though.  I believe this recipe came from a Paeleo cookbook or site.

My bowl of stew!

Weird picture angle….sorry….:/

I am proud of myself that I have been keeping on track with the Challenge Plan and have not veered off from it at all, but the hardest thing for me is sitting on the back porch with Larry….I have a glass of lemon water or decaf tea and he is drinking beer….that sucks……..BUT I AM STRONG AND I CAN DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hope everyone has a good rest of the week and weekend!  I will be strong!  Hugs!  Vicky

 

Published in: on May 3, 2012 at 8:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simpledinnersbyvickyd.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/pics-as-promisedfew-days-late/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

