DKL Relay For Life Bake Sale Muffins

Hi!  This Saturday, April 14, we are having a bake sale by the fish pond at Der Kuchen Laden!  Our team name is “The Jerbears”, in honor of Jerry Hughes, who is fighting the cancer battle.  I made 3 batches of muffins from the Peach Tree Tea Room cookbook(the dark green book), written by Cynthia Pedregon, who is now with our Father in Heaven, no longer fighting the cancer battle, God bless her.

The muffins and the great book!

The recipes are on pages 121 and 122 of her cookbook. Now, I DID make some revisions to make them special(did you think I would not do so??!!) The “Oatmeal Muffins ” are made with coconut oil, rather than butter or canola oil, that added a nice flavor to them, if I say so myself![muffins are the center ones with the book leaning on their rack!]

On page 122, I made her “Blueberry Muffins”, but instead of using regular ap flour, I used white whole wheat flour and I used frozen blueberries!  They are gong to be quite sweet![they are the muffins on the right side rack!]

I used that same recipe to make my raspberry jelly filled muffins!  My revisions was using white whole wheat flour, reduce the white sugar to 1/3 cup.  Because I was putting jelly inside the muffins, I did not want so much sweetness.  To do the jelly filled muffins, make the batter, put about 2 TBSP of batter in muffin cup, put 2 tsp of jelly/jam on top of batter, put another 2 TBSP of batter on top of jelly and bake normal time![jelly muffins are the ones on the left side!]  You can purchase Cynthia’s cookbook at Der Kuchen Laden so you can make these muffins and any other recipe in her book!

Ya’ll come by Der Kuchen Laden this Saturday and support Relay For Life, the Jerbear team!  All donations are appreciated even if you don’t eat sweets!

Hugs!  Vicky

Published in: on April 11, 2012 at 7:01 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simpledinnersbyvickyd.wordpress.com/2012/04/11/dkl-relay-for-life-bake-sale-muffins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

