Good Coffee….

Hey there!  I have not froze out, but wish I was south of here where it is warmer!!!!

Last nite I cooked for seven young ladies having a bachelorette party here in Fredericksburg!  They were from the Houston area and had contacted me through USPCA last year.  We had been conversing back and forth since about October or so and last nite was the big event for them here at a B&B!

The menu was:

Spinach Dip with pita chips

Smoked salmon on Cucumbers

Romaine Salad with Vinaigrette (Basil and Red Wine)-the salad had fresh tomatoes and fresh moz slices on the side

Chicken Parm-Giada’s recipe on Barillo Plus spaghetti noodles

Steamed Asparagus wrapped in Prosciutto

Dessert was fruit salad marinated in honey, cinnamon, and a splash of Amaretto, with vanilla honey yogurt and an almond lemon Biscotti coated with white chocolate

Sounds simple enuff, right????  Well, let me tell you all the things that goes behind the scenes……..if I can just do a Reader’s Digest version…….

First of all, you don’t know if the place they are staying has adequate plating, so I make sure I have enuff plates to do a full course meal..$$$$$$$ invested……..

Then you think of all the little things that you need to have and remember….thank goodness for computer, pens and paper……and a few vacation days off to get it pulled together……(my house is a wreck…)

Friday I was running around town getting last minute things, going to the store after meeting up with the hostess, we would be using the plates, etc. from the B&B(I used my silverware though and serving bowls, etc.).  Friday nite I made the Spinach dip and marinated the chicken and finished the Biscotti I had made that afternoon(Tooter stole a piece while the chocolate was getting hard and I had to get it from him and trash it, so I guess he approved it!). Friday I was pulling the last of the things in the bins to take to the B&B.

I did not sleep well Friday nite….what I needed to do and things I did not want to forget was running through my mind continually along with how I was going to do my cooking there, over and over and over the same thing kept running through my head…..if I had just got up and put the salt&pepper shakers on the cabinet and the other thing I can’t remember now I wanted to make sure I got and put them where I would not forget them, I think I might have slept better….no, things would still be playing in my head…….

Saturday, yesterday, I was on my feet all day getting things ready for the big event….going to the store, coming home and doing the prepping of all the things I wanted to have ready to save me tons of time there(and it did!!!) Did I say the coffee tastes good this am??

I was to be at the B&B around 4:30. Once I had everything prepped and in its place, and after running back to DKL to pick up some ice tea spoons and stopping to get some ice, it was 3:00.  Ok…stop and eat something so I don’t pass out from lack of food, get dressed(my chef garb on), and load up the cooler.  I had already loaded up all the bins and pans before I ate.  I was there at the B&B at 4:30.  Unload all the bins and stuff and start setting up.  Did I say they wanted the table set??? Thank goodness I read how to set a table out of the Emily Post Book of Etiquette the store just got in…..

Once inside and unloaded, I started picking things up that was left around and cleaned everything off so that I could set the table, which was first on my list after I put all cold stuff in the fridge. I have to admit, the table looked really nice and the girls were impressed too!  Appetizers got made first so that when they came in, they could snack  while I pulled the dinner together….they came in while I was still making the smoked salmon on cucumbers, saw what I was doing and was totally making good noises over them!  They got their drinks going, and I put out the dip and salmon.  Once they all got there, they dove right in to the apps! I never heard so much commotion over something as those girls did about the dip and salmon! (guess they liked it…will post recipes later…)  Then they went into the living room and started a movie.

Meanwhile, I was busy pulling together the salad and extras, dressings, and starting the rest of the dinner trying to have it ready by 7:00…..while I was frying the chicken in the pan(did I say there was a six-burner gas stove I got to use for cooking in there??) I had a paper towel that I was wiping up splattered oil on the side and front of the stove. Well, you may have guessed it…it caught on fire from the burner….I saw it, said a few words under my breath and rushed it to the sink and washed the fire out……note to self……it may be a good thing that I don’t have a gas stove to cook on at home!!!!!!!

When I had it all ready, it was about 7:30 and I totally apologized to them that I did not have it ready at 7:00.  They were fine because they were drinking their wine and watching a movie…..they came together, held hands to say a prayer and I asked to join in.  That was so nice to see those girls stopping to give God thanks for the time they were having!

They first got their salad and then came back for the main meal.  It all looked very nice and pretty….I hope they will send me pics too!  I served the chicken to them instead of them doing it themselves(did I say that there was a double convection oven that I got to use for the chicken, asparagus and rolls??? Might be something on the wish list….) Anyway, there was a bunch of moans and groans from them once they started eating.  Meanwhile, I was pulling the fruit together for dessert…….once they were all finished eating the meal, I served the fruit on little plates (thank you Marilyn!) in clear coffee mugs with two almond Biscotti on the side, Bride first! I heard comments from them that this was better than sitting down at a fine restaurant and eating!  Much more relaxed and better food! (one up for me!)

I have to admit, there were some of the girls who ate everything and there were some who just picked around……but they may have been full from appetizer overload….I cleaned everything up, loaded the dish washer and got it to running…..packed my stuff, and by that time, my back, feet and arms were very tired…..I wiped everything down(oops…..I did not wipe down the center Island I used as prep station..I realized that when I was laying in bed last nite), did the stupid check(I left my napkin holder there…so stupid check did not all work), waved goodbye to the girls and came home.  It was about 9:45 when I got home……yes I could hardly move….I finished my water, got me a glass of Cab and two Alieves, sat in my chair with my feet up in Yoga style for about 30 minutes(Larry was at the lake, so I had “my time”).  I was too tired to shower, even though I probably would have felt better, so I went to bed(had PJ’s on while unwinding)………

I was expecting to be totally stiff when I woke up, but I am not, thank you Dear Lord!  Next, though, is to unload the car from last nite, take a shower and get ready to work at the store…..did I say the coffee tastes good this morning?????  Hugs!  Me

 

 

Published in: on February 26, 2012 at 8:43 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simpledinnersbyvickyd.wordpress.com/2012/02/26/good-coffee/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. sounds like it went well, the menu sounds delicious!

  2. WOW, you had a full couple of days and evening. But, it sounds wonderful and I’m so glad you got to chef for the young ladies. I bet it was so nice. It sounded wonderful. I know you always put your whole heart and soul into your catering. Hopefully you will get pics, and maybe even a referral for the future. I would have been wiped out too. That is not a easy thing to do. Any entertaining is stressful. Glad you had a little ME time. Your earned it for sure. Hope we get to chat soon. Just be sure to get your napkin holder back if you can. Sorry you have to work today, but GLAD the coffee is good this morning. Luv Ya.

    • Yes, it has been a busy week period but this week at work is Heinz 57 also! Look forward to day off on Wednesday! Will finish clean-up and then it will be pamper-me-time!(I hope!)


Leave a Reply

