Pancakes and Apple Butter

This Sunday I made whole wheat pancakes for brunch and cooked up some apple butter to have on my morning “gruel”…….

The recipe for my pancakes that I use is this(I may have posted it before):

In a large bowl, whisk together:  2 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp sea salt.  Divide this equally into two ziplock baggies.  When you are ready to make a batch of cakes, take one baggie and put into a medium-size bowl and whisk in 1/3 cup ground flax meal.  In a 2 or 4  cup measuring cup, add 2 cups low-fat buttermilk and two eggs.  Blend together and add to dry ingredients in bowl and mix.  May leave a few lumps or you can mix smooth.  Cook on hot griddle or in waffle maker.

Side one cooking.

Side two cooking!

Larry and the pancake!

Larry's pancake.

As you can see, my hubby like a little pancake with his syrup!

"MY" pancake plate!

I like mine with a little molasses! (apple butter was not done, yet!)

Now for the apple butter!

I chopped three organic Gold apples into small pieces, yes I left the peeling on them!  In a medium pan, in went the apples and I added 1/2 cup water.

Apples ready to cook!

Cook this on medium until it starts cooking good and then turn heat down to low to medium low.  This should stew for about an hour.

Apples cooking.

Add 1/4 cup turbinado sugar and 1 1/2 tsp of your favorite gingerbread spice mix or you can add 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. allspice, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, and 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg.

1/4 cup Turbinado sugar.

Stir all together and cook on low another 30 minutes or so.  I took my hand mixer and mixed the apple butter as well as it would do, and then put into clean quart jar.

MY HOME-MADE APPLE BUTTER!!!!!!

It turned out wonderful!!!  Low sugar and high flavor!  Yes, I will do this again!

Tomorrow is Wednesday!  I plan to go to the fitness center and put in about a good hour of working out, come home, shower and eat me a hot bowl of my “gruel” topped with my apple butter!!!  I can hardly wait!  Yeah, I will have to eat supper, shower, go to bed, sleep, and then wake up in the morning to get there!!!!!  You think that is something to look forward to in the morning???!!!!!  I think so!!!!  LOL  Hugs!  Vicky D

Published in: on January 24, 2012 at 7:45 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simpledinnersbyvickyd.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/pancakes-and-apple-butter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. yummmm I think im going to try these with pumpkin butter!

    • These are not a sweet pancake but if you want, you can add a little sugar/honey to the mixture! Thank you for your comment!


Leave a Reply

