Chicken Muffin Cups

Hey y’all!

I am back!  I have been busy at work plus trying to crochet pot holders to be sold at Der Kuchen Laden!  But I DID manage to take pictures of a dish I fixed last nite for supper!  I saw a recipe from Cooking.com/eatingwell.com called Muffin-Tin Crab Cakes.  I had baked up about two whole chickens and knew I needed to do something with the meat I had in the fridge.  So, when I saw this recipe, it gave me the idea of making chicken muffin cups based on this recipe but making my changes to meet my taste buds!  Crab meat is expensive, if you did not know that, and by using the chicken and other ingredients I used, I was able to give it a “seafood” flair!  So, here we go!

Two chopped chicken breast meat

Set your oven to 450 degrees before you start.  I took two cooked chicken breasts, pulled the meat off and chopped it into small pieces, about the size of lump crab meat and put it in a large mixing bowl. For measuring purposes, 3 cups of chopped chicken meat of your choice would be fine.

Onion, pepper & garlic

Here is 1/2 green pepper, chopped fairly fine, about 1/2 cup chopped onion and a small clove of garlic minced fine sitting in a non-stick pan with about 1 TBSP of EVOO.  Saute this until onion is starting to be clear. Set aside to cool a bit while you pull the other things together.

Toasted bread crumbs.

I put two pieces of whole wheat bread in the toaster and crumbled them in my 4-cup Cuisinart mini processor.

Mayo, Old Bay, and eggs.

There is two eggs and one egg white in the bowl.  Beat those well together.  Add about 1/4 cup of mayo to the eggs along with 1 tsp. Old Bay seasoning and 1/2 tsp sea salt.  When mixed, add to the chicken along with the bread crumbs and sauteed veggies.  Chop 1 TBSP of fresh parsley to the bowl, sorry, I don’t have a pic of that, last minute addition to get that perfect taste I was looking for!  Fold ingredients  and put in sprayed non-stick muffin pans. Top with Whole Wheat panko crumbs. Bake in pre-heated 450 degree oven for 25 minutes.  Serve while hot!  I took a slender high-heat spatula and ran it around each cup to help get them out of the pans.

Chicken cups ready for oven!

This is a pic of the chicken muffins that I had in a regular tin 6-cup muffin pan.  I had three in a non-stick pan, also.  The ones in the non-stick pan browned better on the outside and came out of the pan easy while the ones in the tin pan, stuck and did not brown on the sides.  That’s just an FYI for you when you make them!

Plated and ready for eating!

Now doesn’t that look just yummy!  I made mac & cheese using a scratch cheese sauce/roux base white sauce with sharp cheddar cheese, I put some of the sauce on the chicken cups after I took the pic!  Fresh carrots, radishes and Serrano peppers were my sides.  I wanted to make some squash from the freezer, but I did not remember to do it until after I had nearly cleaned my plate……go figure…..

They really tasted great and Larry said I could make these again anytime!  So, in the event you have quite a bit of left-over chicken in some form or fashion, here is a good and tasty way of using some of it up!  If you don’t want to go to the trouble of cooking/baking chicken, you can use rotisserie chicken from your favorite store!

Hope you try this, because it is good and easy to fix, plus it is GOOD FOR YOU TOO!!!!!!!  Shhhhhh don’t tell the kids that……Hugs!  Vicky D

Published in: on December 10, 2011 at 9:21 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simpledinnersbyvickyd.wordpress.com/2011/12/10/chicken-muffin-cups/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

