Thanksgiving & banana pudding!

Hi all!

Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday this year!  I did and will share a twist on making banana pudding!  Larry & I went to Sister Juanice’s house Thursday and I made 4 salads for the feast!  All but one turned out good…let’s not go there…..

Friday I did not have to work at the store, so we had Larry’s kids and family over for supper!  The menu was smothered deer steak(the last of the elk from 2009-wonderful things, those Ziplock freezer suction bags); mashed red potatoes, green beans with bacon and onion, the left-over salads except the bad one; green salad mix; sweet corn-Heather brought this, and bread from Fredericksburg Bakery-Christine brought this!  I wasn’t going to do desserts but I had a hankering for banana pudding, so I gave in….Heather brought her chocolate layered dessert also! (she was craving chocolate-yes, the little girl will be here about the first of April next year!)

We all ate til we were miserable……the kids played and played and played.  I bet they slept good that nite!

The little "darlings"!

 

Makenna Duecker and Koen Koch…yes, those are the two grand-kids that live here in Fredericksburg.  Mr. Robbie is in Dallas, missed having Alex, Michael and Robbie here for this time but they will be down the weekend of December 17th.  Our family Christmas celebration will be at that time!  Menu is planning in my head, yes, of course!

Ok…..now for the banana pudding…….it turned out good…..hurt myself bad eating it……..

Here is the recipe!

Make a triple batch of tapioca pudding according to the box directions only use this milk substitution instead:

6 cups of 1/2 & 1/2 and the rest regular or 1% milk and use only 2/3 cups of sugar instead of the 1 cup for the triple batch.  I did not want a real sweet pudding.  When the pudding is done, set it aside to cool somewhat and get your box of vanilla wafers and bananas(I used 4) along with the big bowl for the pudding.  In the bowl, start with tapioca pudding, then cookies and then bananas and layer that way until the end and make sure your last layer is pudding and then vanilla wafers. Ok….I did a layer of pudding on top of the cookies and ten the first layer of bananas, but pudding was first…ok??!!

The thing to remember: make the pudding next to last and the wafers as last topping..hope that makes sense.  You don’t want bananas as your last or next to the last layer of the pudding…they will turn brown as you know bananas to do!  Cover with plastic wrap and chill in the fridge until ready to enjoy!

Layer one!

 

Final product! Wonderful stuff...

 

I wanted to jump in the bowl head first….I love, love, love banana pudding……..

The way I grew up eating banana pudding is where Mom would make the Jello cook vanilla pudding and do the layers like this, but after a day in the fridge as left-overs, there would be liquid  in the bottom or sides from the pudding…….not too good like that……BUT!  I had some for breakfast this morning, today is Sunday and I made it Friday, and NO RUNNY STUFF IN THE BOTTOM OF THE BOWL!!!!!!!   I am TOTALLY impressed!!!  From here on out when I make banana pudding, I will be making tapioca as my vanilla pudding!!!!!!!!!!  Hope you try this, if you like banana pudding, and it is as good as what I did here!  Hugs!  Me!

 

Published in: on November 27, 2011 at 7:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simpledinnersbyvickyd.wordpress.com/2011/11/27/thanksgiving-banana-pudding/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

