Meatballs are ready!!!

Hi all!

I could just kick myself….I wanted to take pics of nearly every step of me making the meatballs, but I did not…my dear sweet daughter called and I had to talk to her and I worked/cooked while talking…go figure, yes, multi-task, but I forgot to get the camera while mixing the meatballs up.  My fault but I DID get some pics to share anyway!

Ok…here goes…..

I made a double batch  so I would have left-overs and be able to put some in the freezer.

3 pounds of your favorite ground meat(mine is ground deer meat-1/2 deer,1/2 beef grind)

4 eggs and 1 1/3 cup milk, mixed together(this was an accident-recipe calls for 1/2 cup milk for double batch, I did not pay attention to my directions-was reading the bread crumb ratio for the milk- but it worked out fine!  Nice & moist!)

1 1/3 cup bread crumbs

1 tsp oregano, marjoram, salt, pepper and garlic powder(mix this in a bowl)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine meat, bread crumbs, seasoning and egg/milk mixture.  Take a large cookie sheet and cover with foil.  Spray with ns spray.  Using whatever size scoop you want to, scoop balls onto the foil.  Take your hands and round them out and replace them on the sheet.  I used a 11×17 jelly roll sheet pan an used a large cookie scoop (OXO large) to make the balls.  Bake for about 30 to 45 minutes, depending on the size of meatballs.  Serve with your favorite sauce and sides!

Meatballs in the oven!

Waiting to get the rest of the sides ready, I have the oven off, the baked/microwaved potato in the oven with the balls.  As you can see, these are not little ones!  They would make nice meatball subs!

 

First frozen green beans from the garden.

I pulled out of the freezer a pack of green beans that I put up this summer from the garden.  Brown some bacon in a medium pan; add defrosted beans and some onion.  Stir around and add about 1 cup of water, 1 tsp chicken bouillon paste, and black pepper.  Turn burner to low and simmer for about 30 to 40 minutes.  These turned out really good!  I will fix a big batch for Thanksgiving dinner Friday after the T-day!

Gooood gravy!

Ok…I do cheat on brown gravy but I change it up to add flavor.(are you surprised…)  2 packs of McCormick brown gravy mix.  In your non-stick pan, add about 1 TBSP EVOO and chop up about 1/2 cup onion.  Cook until onion is tender.  Add the 2 cups of water and packs of gravy mix.  Whisk to blend gravy powder and cook until thickened and bubbly.  Turn down or off if all sides are ready.  This mix is a staple at the Duecker house. You can’t beat it.

 

My plate! (yes, I ate the whole thing..) 🙂

Meat balls, 1/2 baked potato drizzled with EVOO&pepper, green beans, carrots, japs, avocado, and yes, gravy on the meatballs!  This is definitely a good supper!  I saved out 10 meatballs for left-overs and put up 2 quart vac bags holding 4 meatballs per pack for the freezer, just right for a meal for two!

I am stuffed……hugs……me!

 

Published in: on November 14, 2011 at 9:18 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simpledinnersbyvickyd.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/meatballs-are-ready/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Looks just yummy to me. Hope all is well at the Duecker home. All is good here in Brady. Hugs!


Leave a Reply

