Yogurt misshap :(

Hi!

Just a short note to say that I made a batch of yogurt the way one of my fellow employees makes hers and it did not turn out the way it does when I make it the way I posted here earlier on how to do it.  Instead of cooking the milk to the certain temp, and cooling it, I took my yogurt starter and mixed it into the 2 liters of cold milk and cooked it for over 24 hours in my faithful yogurt maker.  It turned out to be yogurt milk…..  😦   it is not solid at all……   The taste is there but there is no texture like yogurt should have and has had in the past when I cook the milk first, cool it and finish it off.  WHAT AM I GOING TO DO WITH THE QUART OF YOGURT I HAVE IN THE FRIDGE AND DID NOT GIVE TO MY TRUSTY FRIEND DEBBIE??????

runny yogurt 😦 but not toal loss!

Well, today I took about 1/2 a cup and gave it to my big cat, JR; I also took a 1/2 cup with me to work to put on my oatmeal mixture with fresh blueberries.  Since it is the consistency of buttermilk, I will use it like buttermilk in recipes such as banana bread/cake or batter bread or corn bread or whole wheat pancakes plus use it to top off my oatmeal like I did this morning! So!  It is not a total waste!  BUT!!!!!!  Next time I will make it the way I have always done and had good luck with it!  The next batch I make I will use the powdered yogurt starter that I have in the fridge from The Peach Basket and see how the consistency is from when I use plain yogurt.  Stay tuned for my uses of runny yogurt!!!!!

PS……..here is a clip of my measurements that I said I would post when I talked about my vacation…..we will see what they are in two weeks!

See if you can see what is written on the paper!

I have been eating much better these past two days since my friend Debbie and I did a bunch of cooking on Sunday!  I have also been eating a protein and carb around 4:00 in the afternoon just like the Eat Clean plan tells you to do! I will try to start posting my meals with pics for you when I can also! (gotta keep the camera handy in the mornings so I can shoot what I put in my lunch bag!  So!  Stay tuned for more!!!!!!!

(if you enjoyed reading this, please hit the “like” button on facebook and do the “twitter thing” also!   Hugs!  Me!

Published in: on September 20, 2011 at 9:13 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://simpledinnersbyvickyd.wordpress.com/2011/09/20/yogurt-misshap/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

